Displays

Jewish-American Heritage Month

Jewish-American Heritage Month

Mental Health Awareness Month

Military Appreciation Month

National Inventors Month

Motorcycle Awarness Month

FAQs

Are you open since Covid-19? 

Yes! Masks are recommended but not required.

When are you open?

We are open Monday through Saturday. Monday, Tuesday, and Thursday we are open from 9:30 am to 8:00 pm. Wednesday and Friday we are open from 9:30 am to 5:30 pm. Saturday we are open from 10:00 am to 5:00 pm. We are closed Sundays and the first Wednesday of the month. Don’t forget to check our website and Facebook page for important updates.


Does the library print and make copies?

Yes, we can print and make copies. We have a public copier that takes quarters, and we have a private printer that can print, fax, and make copies.


How much does it cost to print, make copies, or fax?
It is $0.25 per page for black and white, $0.50 per page for color, and $1.00 per page to send and receive a fax.


Does the library have internet?
Yes, we have free public Wi-Fi that can be used inside the library, outside on the patio, and even the parking lot.


Can anyone use the library and get on a computer?
Everyone is welcome to visit our library, read our books in the library, and use the table spaces. To use a computer, you will need either your library card in good standing or a valid ID. If you cannot provide either, you can have access to a 15-minute computer. If you owe fines, you must pay down $2.00 to get on a computer.

How do I get a card?

Bring in a piece of mail with your current address and a valid ID.

Do I have to live in McMinn County to get a card?

No!

How much does it cost to get a card?

For McMinn County residents, it is free! For out of county, the cost is $10.00 per year.


How many items can I checkout?
You can check out a maximum of 20 items combined at one time. Magazines, audio books, and DVDs have a 5 per card limit and hotspots and Chromebooks have a 1 per household limit.


What is the loan time for materials?
Books, magazines, and audio books are checked out for 3 weeks. DVDs, Hotspots, and Chromebooks are checked out for 1 week.


How much are fines for late materials?
Books, audio books, and magazines are $0.20 per day overdue. DVDs, Hotspots, and Chromebooks are $1.00 per day overdue.
 
How do I request materials that are not located at E. G. Fisher Library?
You can request materials that are not located at our library either by filling out an interlibrary loan request form online or requesting an interlibrary loan through the phone or at the counter with one of our library clerks. You can put 2 requests in at a time. You can also check Tennessee Reads to see if the book is available as an eBook or audio book through Libby/Overdrive.


Who can use the interlibrary loan services?
Patrons of our E.G. Fisher Public Library can use the interlibrary loan services.


Is there a fee for interlibrary loan services?
It does not cost to request material from other libraries using the interlibrary loan program. This is a free service provided by the State of Tennessee.


Will I be notified when my interlibrary loan reserve arrives?
We will call you when we have received the requested material. Once we receive it, we can hold it for one week before we must return it.

Do you have programs?

We do! Check our website under “Programs,” our Facebook page, or give us a call!

What is the cost of your programs?

Free!


How do I renew books?

To renew books or other material you can call us at 423-745-7782 or renew in person.


What can I do if a book I want is already checked out?
If there is a item you are wanting but it is already checked out by another patron, you can put the item on hold. To put the item on hold you can either do it over the phone, in person, or online.

 
How do I put an item on hold online?
To put an item on hold online, log on to our Verso online catalog. If it is your first time logging in, enter USERPASS as the password. Afterwards, you can create a new password. Then you will search for the item you are wanting in the search bar or the advance search bar. Once you locate the item, click “Place Hold”  or find.


Can you see my checkout history?

We can only see what patrons have checked out currently or connected with any fines. If you want to keep track of the materials you have completed, we recommend keeping track online in our Verso catalog. Go to “your account,” then “checkout history,” then click “activate history.”

How do I make an account on VERSO, the library catalog?

Go to our website. Click: library catalog. When Verso is loaded, look in the upper right corner for Login. If it is your first time logging in, enter USERPASS as the password. Afterwards, you can create a new password. From here, you can explore your account.  Keep in mind if you have any fines on your account, you will not be able to renew your materials or place holds.


How do I check out a hotspot?

Hotspots are free to check-out and provided by East Tennessee Foundation and the TOPS grant. To checkout a hotspot, you must be 18 years or older and your household account must be in good standing. New cards are ineligible for the first month. If we do not have any available at the counter, you can be added to the wait list. We will notify you when one is ready for pickup. Once a hotspot becomes available to check out, you will need to bring your library card and ID.


How do I check out a Chromebook laptop?

Chromebooks are free to check-out and provided by the Tennessee Community CARES grant. To checkout a Chromebook, you must be 18 years or older and your household account must be in good standing. New cards are ineligible for the first month. If we do not have any Chromebooks available at the counter, you can be added to the wait list. We will notify you when one is ready for pickup. Once a Chromebook becomes available to check out, you will need to bring your library card and ID card. When you are here we will go through the process of checking you out the Chromebook.


Do you offer audio books and eBooks?

We have digital audio books available to  check out in person in the library. We also are linked with Overdrive/Libby which allows you to use your library card to have access to online audio books and eBooks.

Do you rent golf clubs?

We do! Rentals are for 24 hours with a maximum of 3 clubs per card (balls included). There is a little course over at Prof Powers Park a couple of blocks away. Ask at the front desk for directions.

What are the Wetlands behind the library?

The Oostanala Creek has flooding problems. The Wetlands were created to help alleviate those problems by creating a place for the storm water run off to go and providing a natural habitat that allows wildlife to flourish.

Did the library used to be a barn?

No. It was built as a library in 1997.

How do I support the library?

You can volunteer or donate to our PayPal.

Interlibrary Loan

Click to request an item.

Books, movies, and other materials not found in our collection may be borrowed through the Inter-library Loan program at no cost to you. You may request by author, title or by subject.  Patrons are currently limited to 3 inter-library loans at a time. Materials published or released within the past six months are not available for inter-library loan. Materials located within the state of Tennessee take one to three weeks to arrive. If a requested item is located outside the state it may take up to three or four weeks to be delivered.

You can request an item using the Interlibrary Loan Request Form.

For questions regarding inter-library loan or updates on your request email, you may contact us at 423-745-7782 or interlibraryloan@fisherlibrary.org.

 

 

How to Get a Library Card

Library Cards

Library cards are issued free of charge to residents of McMinn County. Card recipients must be at least 5 years old to receive their own library account. Patrons residing outside of the county may pay a fee of $10 per year for library privileges. In registering for a library card, be prepared to provide a valid government issued photo I.D. and proof of current mailing address, such as a piece of official mail or printed checks. Parents or a legal guardian are required to sign the registration card for all children under the age of 18. Replacement cards can be obtained for a $4.00 charge.

You may apply for a library card in person at the library or by calling 423-745-7782 to apply over the phone. Patrons applying by phone will be required to show a valid government issued photo I.D. and proof of current mailing address to pick up their card.

Library cards are renewed each year to ensure your information is up to date. To renew your card, bring a valid government issued photo I.D. to the circulation desk at the library. Juvenile cards require the presence of the cardholder and their parent or legal guardian with a government issued photo I.D.

Teachers with ACS and MCS living out of the county receive free library cards. Employment verified with yearly card renewal.

Juvenile accounts must be attached to an adult account. All patrons 18 and up provide I.D. Juvenile account information is verified verbally.  The parent/guardian who signed for the library card is financially responsible. Adult patrons with old fines from childhood will not be responsible for fines/fees.

Patrons may remove themselves from household by providing proof of address at another location. Patrons may remove another household member by signing that the individual no longer resides in the household. Statements will be kept on file.

Learn more about using your library card here – Circulation Policy.