## McMinn County Library Board Called Meeting July 2, 2020

The McMinn County Library Board held a called meeting on July 2, 2020at 4 pm. As per Governor Lee's executive order due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the meeting was held virtually. Tyler Forrest called the meeting to order.

**In Attendance:** Tyler Forrest, Robert Sherwood, Tim Womac, Lynn Perkinson, Mickey Blevins, Patricia Ekiss, Maggie Hoffman, Robin Arms, Liz Shreck

**Approval of Minutes:** The minutes from the May 18, 2020 meeting were presented for approval. Robert Sherwood made a motion to accept, Maggie Hoffman seconded. The minutes were approved.

**Letter of Resignation:** Katie Brady, director of EG Fisher Library, submitted her letter of resignation to MCLB with her final day being July 5, 2020. The board wished her well with her new job opportunity.

**Appointment of Interim Director:** The Executive Committee presented the recommendation to appoint Peyton Eastman, who is currently the Children's Librarian at EG Fisher, as interim director. Peyton will be interim from July 6, 202 through December 31, 2020, or until the new director is in place. The appointment will serve at the pleasure of the board. Patricia Eikiss moved to accept the appointment. Maggie Hoffman seconded the motion. The motion passed by voice vote.

**Interim Director Compensation:** As Peyton will continue her duties of Children's Librarian while taking on the Director responsibilities as well, it was decided that a compensation salary of \$3,000 a month be paid to Peyton Eastman while she is serving as interim director. Maggie Hoffman made a motion to accept. Robert Sherwood seconded the motion. The motion passed by voice vote.

**Authorization to allow Interim Director to sign checks:** A vote was held to remove Katie Brady from the checking account and to place Peyton Eastman on, thus giving her the ability to sign checks. The vote passed.

**Interim Director Goals and Duties:** Tyler Forrest presented a set of goals and duties for the interim director. (See attached) He also stated that he will be meeting with Peyton weekly to make sure all is going as planned.

**Search Committee:** A search committee for a new director for EG Fisher Library has been formed. It will be chaired by Mickey Blevins. The members are Tyler Forrest, Patricia Eikiss, and Robin Arms. The intent is to have the new director in place by January 1; with the goal of voting on the new director by the November 2020 Library Board meeting.

**Other:** Patricia Eikiss reported that after several phone calls between Nina, Peyton, and herself, they have been able to make a way that new card applications can now be done online. This will be particularly helpful for those who are moving from the recently closed Niota Library.

Patricia Eikiss made a motion to Adjourn. Maggie Hoffman seconded the motion.

The next regularly scheduled meeting will be July 27, 2020